In 2002, the South East Asian Capacity Building Network (SEACap-Net) was established as a regional network with representatives from 8 countries: Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam. Limited network activities for some years triggered country networks managers to came forward to revitalize SEA-CapNet. The network was renamed and re-established as AguaJaring during the Cap-Net Managers meeting held in Delft in October 2006. AguaJaring was officially launched in 2007 during the 3rd South East Asia Water Forum, in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Dr. Salmah Zakaria, Director of NAHRIM (National Hydraulics research Institute of Malaysia) became the first Network Coordinator. AguaJaring’s Network Secretariat was established within and hosted by NAHRIM. In 2014, the network secretariat was relocated to Indonesia and hosted by a private consultancy firm PT. IHE Indonesia until today. Currently, Jan T.L. Yap serves as Network Coordinator cum Chairman of the Steering Committee.

AguaJaring covers 11 countries, Myanmar, Thailand, Lao PDR, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, Timor Leste and the Philippines. Currently, 8 national networks are registered as members: Myanmar, Thailand, Lao PDR, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, and the Philippines.

AguaJaring is governed by a Steering Committee (SC) and supported by networks of institutions some of which are country networks. A regional leadership with country networks and members plus the support from the partners provides a regional recognition for local initiations. This structure is very conducive and provide flexible platform for regional planning, pooling the resources and delegating the activities.

Send Comment